Back to Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Barclay Cottage History

Barclay Cottage Bed and Breakfast is one of only two remaining original Victorian beach cottages at the Virginia Beach oceanfront.


This unique home was built in 1895 by the Norfolk and Virginia Beach Railroad as the clubhouse for a golf course on Lake Holly that was never built. The property was then sold to Vertie Griggs and W.E. Williamson.


It became the home of Lillian St. Claire Barclay and her parents in December 1916. Lillian began accepting guests in 1917, making Barclay Cottage (called Barclay Acre on a vintage postcard) the longest continuously operating lodging facility in Virginia's Tidewater area.


Barclay Cottage's porch was the site of several of Edgar Cayce's readings. This world-renowned healer was a friend and neighbor of the Barclay family.


Miss Barclay also ran a primary school here for 50 years. We continue to collect stories about this Virginia Beach historical treasure from Miss Barclay's former students, teachers, friends and relatives at Barclay School reunions, which we host regularly.


Steve and Marie-Louise LaFond purchased the Inn in 2003, when they shed their former lives and emerged as very happy innkeepers!